Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT PuraMax 2: Which Is Better?
Last analyzed · live prices and availability on Amazon may have changed since.
Litter-Robot 4

297 reviews
PETKIT PuraMax 2

548 reviews
The real differences
Stripped of marketing. Just facts.
| Spec | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 Supply... | PETKIT PuraMax 2 Automatic... | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight Capacity (Max Cat Weight) | 12 lbs | 22 lbs | B accommodates heavier cats, while A is limited to 12 lbs per cat. |
| Item Weight | 24 lbs | 22 lbs | B is slightly lighter and easier to move. |
| Dimensions (L x W x H) | 27"L x 24.25"W x 29.5"H | 24.4"L x 21.18"W x 21.73"H | B has a smaller footprint and lower profile. |
| Entry Height | Not specified (likely higher) | 7.87 inches | B's low entry is friendlier for older, short-legged, or mobility-limited cats. |
| Waste Bin Capacity | Not specified | 7L (up to 15 days) | B offers a clearly specified larger waste bin for longer hands-free operation. |
| Safety Sensors | Weight scale technology | 7 infrared + 4 weight sensors, anti-pinch | B has more comprehensive safety features to prevent accidents. |
| Warranty | WhiskerCare (length unspecified) | 2-year warranty | B provides a clear 2-year warranty, while A's warranty length is not stated. |
| Customer Rating | 4.4/5 (297 reviews) | 4.2/5 (548 reviews) | A has a slightly higher rating, though with fewer reviews. |
12 lbs
22 lbs
24 lbs
22 lbs
27"L x 24.25"W x 29.5"H
24.4"L x 21.18"W x 21.73"H
Not specified (likely higher)
7.87 inches
Not specified
7L (up to 15 days)
Weight scale technology
7 infrared + 4 weight sensors, anti-pinch
WhiskerCare (length unspecified)
2-year warranty
4.4/5 (297 reviews)
4.2/5 (548 reviews)
What real buyers say
From 200+ reviews. Filtered for honesty.
Whisker Litter-Robot 4 Supply Bundle, White - Automatic, Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, WiFi Enabled, Includes Litter-Robot 4, 3 OdorTrap Refills, 10 Liners, 30 Cleaner Wipes, & 2 Carbon Filters
Self-cleaning convenience eliminates scooping
2+ people said this
App control and monitoring of litter and waste levels
2+ people said this
Effective odor reduction with OdorTrap and carbon filters
1+ people said this
Suitable for up to 4 cats
1+ people said this
Max weight capacity limited to 12 lbs per cat
1+ people complained
Bulky and tall design may require more space
1+ people complained
PETKIT PuraMax 2 Automatic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box, App Control Automatic Litter Box with Safety Sensors, Odor Free & Anti-Leakage Basic Bundle Includes Trash Bags,2.4G WiFi & Low Entrance
Low entry friendly for older or short-legged cats
2+ people said this
Large 7L waste bin lasts up to 15 days
2+ people said this
Advanced safety sensors (7 infrared + 4 weight) prevent accidents
2+ people said this
Supports heavier cats up to 22 lbs
1+ people said this
Not compatible with K3 Smart Spray
1+ people complained
Must be placed on flat floor, not carpet, due to sensor interference
1+ people complained
The verdict
If you have multiple cats (up to 4) and value a higher customer rating, choose A; if you need a lower entry for older cats, support for heavier cats up to 22 lbs, or a longer warranty, go with B.
If you care about Customer Rating
If you care about Weight Capacity (Max Cat Weight) · Item Weight · Dimensions (L x W x H) · Entry Height
Based on 845 real buyer reviews + 8 side-by-side specs.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, Litter-Robot 4 or PETKIT PuraMax 2?
If you have multiple cats (up to 4) and value a higher customer rating, choose A; if you need a lower entry for older cats, support for heavier cats up to 22 lbs, or a longer warranty, go with B.
What's the difference between Litter-Robot 4 and PETKIT PuraMax 2?
The key differences: Weight Capacity (Max Cat Weight) — Litter-Robot 4: 12 lbs, PETKIT PuraMax 2: 22 lbs (B accommodates heavier cats, while A is limited to 12 lbs per cat.); Item Weight — Litter-Robot 4: 24 lbs, PETKIT PuraMax 2: 22 lbs (B is slightly lighter and easier to move.); Dimensions (L x W x H) — Litter-Robot 4: 27"L x 24.25"W x 29.5"H, PETKIT PuraMax 2: 24.4"L x 21.18"W x 21.73"H (B has a smaller footprint and lower profile.); Entry Height — Litter-Robot 4: Not specified (likely higher), PETKIT PuraMax 2: 7.87 inches (B's low entry is friendlier for older, short-legged, or mobility-limited cats.).
Which is better value, Litter-Robot 4 or PETKIT PuraMax 2?
Across the specs we compared, Litter-Robot 4 comes out ahead on 1 and PETKIT PuraMax 2 on 7. The better value depends on which of those wins matter most for how you'll use it — check live pricing on Amazon and weigh it against the pros and cons above.
Is the Litter-Robot 4 worth it?
Reviewers most often highlight: "Self-cleaning convenience eliminates scooping." The most common complaint: "Max weight capacity limited to 12 lbs per cat." Weigh that against the PETKIT PuraMax 2 using the full pros and cons above to decide.
Is the PETKIT PuraMax 2 worth it?
Reviewers most often highlight: "Low entry friendly for older or short-legged cats." The most common complaint: "Not compatible with K3 Smart Spray." Weigh that against the Litter-Robot 4 using the full pros and cons above to decide.
How is this Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT PuraMax 2 comparison made?
It's based on AI analysis of 845 Amazon customer reviews (297 for Litter-Robot 4, 548 for PETKIT PuraMax 2) alongside the full specifications of both products.
Deep dives
Related comparisons
Shop smarter with Ask Versa AI
Get occasional product-comparison tips and new features as they ship. No spam.